Council Constitution

We have a constitution which sets out how we operate, how decisions are made and the procedures which are followed to ensure that we are efficient, transparent and accountable to local people.

The constitution is divided into 17 Articles which set out the basic rules governing our business.

More detailed procedures and codes of practice are provided in separate procedure rules.

Our constitution has been divided into seven parts.

For more information, email