Scrutiny Committee

The Scrutiny Committee is made up from councillors who are not on the Cabinet.

This enables these members to influence decisions that are taken by the Cabinet and ensure the views and needs of local people are taken into account.

The committee has a membership of 11 councillors, based upon the political balance.

Role of the Scrutiny Committee

Wide variety of functions, which include:

  • being able to ‘call-in’ for reconsideration decisions that have been made by the Cabinet, but not yet implemented
  • developing new policies and making recommendations for change to the Cabinet or Council
  • monitoring and scrutinising the performance of partner organisations
  • monitoring our performance
  • undertaking reviews of the services offered

2024/2025 Members

The composition of the Committee is:

  • David Draper
  • Jo Farrar-Astrop
  • Caroline Joseph
  • Abhiram Magesh
  • Paul Potter
  • Ben Wall
  • Hazel Watson
  • Clayton Wellman
  • Andrew Matthews (Substitute)
  • Benjamin Wear (Substitute)
  • Joanna Slater
  • Simon Budd (Substitute)
  • Gerry Sevenoaks (Chair)
  • Andy Smith (Vice Chair)
  • Garry Stansfield (Substitute)
  • Patricia Wiltshire (Substitute)

Agendas and Minutes

View the agendas and minutes for the Scrutiny Committee.