Development Control Committee Details

The Development Control Committee usually meets on the first Wednesday of every month to consider planning applications that are not decided by officers under delegated powers. The applications considered normally consist of more complex, sensitive and larger scale planning matters that affect the district.

Meetings of the Development Control Committee are held in the Council Chamber at Mole Valley District Council's Pippbrook Offices in Dorking and commence at 7pm. Members of the public interested in attending can access the building via the Reigate Road entrance, opposite Dorking Sports Centre. Webcasts of recent council meetings can be viewed by visiting the Webcasting page (see 'Related Pages').

Please note: The Development Control Committee meeting on 3 August 2016 will be held at Dorking Halls due to refurbishment work taking place in the Chamber. As webcasting facilities are not available at the Halls, this meeting will not be available to view online. Members of the public are still able to attend the meeting in person.

2017/2018 Development Control Committee Members

The composition of the Committee for 2017/2018 is -


  • Rosemary Dickson
  • James Friend
  • Mary Huggins
  • Chris Hunt (C)
  • Duncan Irvine
  • Howard Jones
  • Malcolm Ladell
  • John Muggeridge
  • Jatin Patel
  • Sarah Seed
  • John Chandler (Substitute)
  • David Mir (Substitute)
  • Corinna Osborne-Patterson (Substitute)
  • Charles Yarwood (Substitute)

Liberal Democrat

  • Margaret Cooksey (VC)
  • Joe Crome
  • Raj Haque
  • Tim Loretto
  • Claire Malcomson
  • Clayton Wellman
  • Stephen Cooksey (Substitute)
  • Paul Elderton (Substitute)
  • Bridget Kendrick (Substitute)
  • Paul Kennedy (Substitute)


  • Mary Cooper
  • David Hawksworth CBE
  • Peter Stanyard
  • David Harper (Substitute)
  • Simon Ling (Substitute)
  • Patricia Wiltshire (Substitute)

For a full listing of Mole Valley District councillors, please visit Your Local Councillor page (see 'Related Pages').

Speaking at a committee meeting

For planning applications where there are 20 or more letters of objection or support or a petition of at least 50 signatures MVDC allows people to speak to the committee.

If you wish to speak you should make your request by no later than 3pm on the Monday before the meeting. Speakers should arrive at reception by 6.45pm.

For more information, please view the Speaking to the Committee leaflet (see 'Downloads').

Last Updated: 30/10/2017

Printer Friendly Version

Do you have any comments about this page?

If you feel this page on 'Development Control Committee Details' could be improved then please let us know here

For general enquiries use Report it, Apply for it or Contact Us