Mole Valley

Website URL :

Scrutiny Committee Details

The Scrutiny Committee is made up from councillors who are not on the Executive. This enables these members to influence decisions that are taken by the Executive and ensure the views and needs of local people are taken into account. The committee has a membership of 11 councillors, based upon the political balance of Mole Valley District Council.

Role of the Scrutiny Committee

The Scrutiny Committee has a wide variety of functions, which include:

  • being able to 'call-in' for reconsideration decisions that have been made by the Executive, but not yet implemented
  • developing new policies and making recommendations for change to the Executive or Council
  • monitoring and scrutinising the performance of partner organisations
  • monitoring MVDC's performance
  • undertaking reviews of the services offered by MVDC

2017/2018 Scrutiny Committee Members

The composition of the Committee for 2017/2018 is -


  • Tim Ashton
  • Lynne Brooks
  • Mary Huggins
  • Malcolm Ladell
  • Chris Hunt
  • Sarah Seed
  • Rosemary Dickson (Substitute)
  • Paul Newman (Substitute)

Liberal Democrat

  • Stephen Cooksey
  • David Draper (C)
  • Paul Potter
  • Margaret Cooksey (Substitute)
  • Clayton Wellman (Substitute)


  • David Harper (VC)
  • Patricia Wiltshire
  • David Hawksworth (Substitute)
  • Peter Stanyard (Substitute)

For a full listing of Mole Valley District councillors, please visit the Your Local Councillor page (see 'Related Pages').

© 2018 Mole Valley, Pippbrook, Dorking, Surrey, RH4 1SJ.
Tel: +44 (0)1306 885001 Fax: +44 (0)1306 876821, 2018.