Mole Valley

Website URL :

Development Control Committee Details

The Development Control Committee usually meets on the first Wednesday of every month to consider planning applications that are not decided by officers under delegated powers. The applications considered normally consist of more complex, sensitive and larger scale planning matters that affect the district.

Meetings of the Development Control Committee are held in the Council Chamber at Mole Valley District Council's Pippbrook Offices in Dorking and commence at 7pm. Members of the public interested in attending can access the building via the Reigate Road entrance, opposite Dorking Sports Centre. Webcasts of recent council meetings can be viewed by visiting the Webcasting page (see 'Related Pages').

2017/2018 Development Control Committee Members

The composition of the Committee for 2017/2018 is:


  • Rosemary Dickson
  • James Friend
  • Mary Huggins
  • Chris Hunt (C)
  • Duncan Irvine
  • Howard Jones
  • Malcolm Ladell
  • John Muggeridge
  • Jatin Patel
  • Sarah Seed
  • John Chandler (Substitute)
  • David Mir (Substitute)
  • Corinna Osborne-Patterson (Substitute)
  • Charles Yarwood (Substitute)

Liberal Democrat

  • Margaret Cooksey (VC)
  • Joe Crome
  • Raj Haque
  • Tim Loretto
  • Claire Malcomson
  • Clayton Wellman
  • Stephen Cooksey (Substitute)
  • Paul Elderton (Substitute)
  • Bridget Kendrick (Substitute)
  • Paul Kennedy (Substitute)


  • David Hawksworth CBE
  • Peter Stanyard
  • Michelle Watson
  • Mary Cooper (Substitute)
  • David Harper (Substitute)
  • Simon Ling (Substitute)
  • Patricia Wiltshire (Substitute)

For a full listing of Mole Valley District councillors, please visit Your Local Councillor page (see 'Related Pages').

Speaking at a committee meeting

For planning applications where there are 20 or more letters of objection or support or a petition of at least 50 signatures MVDC allows people to speak to the committee.

If you wish to speak you should make your request by no later than 3pm on the Monday before the meeting. Speakers should arrive at the Council Chamber by 6.45pm.

For more information, please view the Speaking to the Committee leaflet (see 'Downloads').

© 2018 Mole Valley, Pippbrook, Dorking, Surrey, RH4 1SJ.
Tel: +44 (0)1306 885001 Fax: +44 (0)1306 876821, 2018.